Skip Content


These Guidelines were commissioned by the Council of the Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management and have been produced by a Steering Group of IEEM members. The Steering Group members were Roger Morris (Chair), Polly Couldrick, Mick Green, Tim Norman, Graham Russell, Tom Mallows, Patricia Almada-Villela, Sally Edmonds, Karen Nash, Albert Nottage, Linda Yost and Diana Pound.

The work has been overseen on behalf of IEEM’s Council by Tim Bines.

We would like to acknowledge the practical assistance and support provided by the following organisations:

  • Bright Angel Coastal Consultants Ltd
  • Countryside Council for Wales
  • Crown Estates
  • Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Ecology Matters
  • Environment Agency
  • Environmental Protection Agency, Ireland
  • Marine Biological Association
  • Mott MacDonald Limited
  • National Parks and Wildlife Service
  • Natural England
  • Northern Ireland Environment Agency
  • Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
  • RPS Group Plc
  • Scottish Environment Protection Agency
  • Scottish Natural Heritage.
  • The Wildlife Trusts

CCW logo EA logo MBA logo


NE logo RSPB logo WT logo